Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, 13 October 2015

Review: La Roche-Posay Anthelios SPF 50 Ultra Light Spray.


Hello,

Just a quick review on this sunscreen I absolutely love.
OK so for those who are into sunscreens, I am SURE you know how annoying it is wearing sunscreen particularly in a hot climate, because of:
1. That whitish cast it leaves on the face! You know about that right? 
2. The heat and sweat that just melts off everything when you are out in the sun!
3. Clogged pores or milia caused by some heavy sunscreens.

So to be honest for many months I just steered clear of sunscreens- I just couldn't be bothered. Then sometime in July I did an "intensive" research on sunscreens that were light as silk on the skin and still intensive. I figured a sunscreen with a lighter formulation would not leave much of the whitish cast and would not clog my pores as well.
I was ready to cough out a fair amount for the product as I knew if it was as good as it claimed, then it would be worth it. So I found a number of products with good reviews and unfamiliar names like Cocola Face SPF 30 Sunscreen, Dr Denese SPF 30, Elta MD UV Shield SPF 45 blablabla and finally settled on La Roche-Posay Anthelios SPF 50 Ultra Light Spray. 

So this product is not available in Nigeria but thank God for Amazon that now delivers to Nigeria. I bought mine via Boots while I was away though, for 19 pounds. 

This sunscreen is really ultra light. It isn't oily and it sits well on the skin. I was so happy to finally find a sunscreen that's not too heavy and I noticed that the whitish cast is very minimal on the skin. The trick is to pump a bit on the palm of your hand and rub it all over the face VERY QUICKLY or else you may notice some faint streaks. So rub it in quickly and thoroughly- no feathery strokes!
 It has no fragrance and I think for a 200ml bottle 19 pounds is not a bad price. It definitely has a lighter consistency than the well-loved Neutrogena Helioplex Sunblock which used to be my sunscreen. Also you don't have to wait the usual 15minutes after application before you go out in the sun- a big plus! They say French skin care products are the best. With the Bioderma review (click here) and now this, I think I agree.

What is your favourite sunscreen product?

Monday, 14 September 2015

Review: Bioderma Sebium Global.

Hiya!
Hope the weekend was a good one! My next post will be after my traditional wedding so wish me well and say a little prayer for me that it all goes beautifully well haha!

Anyway so the acne demons wanted to spoil my face for me so that I wouldn't look good for the wedding. But thank God they did not succeed! To be frank though, I believe the acne that spattered my face in the month of July was hormonal, but really acne is acne and I was horrified. I was not happy at all, so walked into a pharmacy at a mall in Dubai, and spoke about my concerns to the pharmacist, who recommended the Bioderma Sebium Global.

It would be my first time using any Bioderma product, and I have to say I was impressed. This product claims to work by regulating and balancing the sebum or natural oil levels of the skin, which when irritated can cause overproduction of sebum, and hence cause acne. 

I would use this morning and night and in a week, I noticed a difference. It wasn't speedy, but there was a difference for sure.

I have not used it in a while as all my acne has cleared and I believe my praying about it actually has a big role to play in that. Nemi told me how she listened to a minister speak about how we should not find some things too unimportant to talk to God about, and that women go through a lot of stress about certain things unnecessarily, when they could have just prayed about it and seen results. 

 Well! I had a wedding coming up and even my make up artist told me during the make up consultation session to try to do something about those bumps before the big day. I did not hesitate to pray and within days my skin began to clear up. I used 2 other products which I will do a review on, and continued with the black soap I bought from Natural Nigerian.

And now my skin is bump free yaaay!
 But anyway, back to the review. The cream is light on the skin and not oily at all. No weird fragrance either. I am not sure if Bioderma products are sold in Nigeria, but hopefully they are, because I believe this would be a wonderful product for acne control.
Laterz!
Fola

Thursday, 20 August 2015

Sleek Blush Palette in Pumpkin

Hi!
Check out the Sleek Blush by 3 (3-in-one) palette in Pumpkin.
Sorry I have no pics of me modelling the colours-one, I'm not exactly a make up pro (I'm even considering taking a make up class soon), and two, my face is very spotty at the moment and I'm quite self-conscious about it haha!

So I bought 2 palettes and this Pumpkin one is the bright one of the two, with bright shades.


I think orange-toned and coral blushes are so pretty and vibrant on the skin, particularly medium-toned skin.

My fave of all three is the Lantern shade and I find myself reaching for it when I'm wearing bright clothing.

As usual with Sleek makeup, it is well pigmented and easy to apply-I use my Black Opal blush brush to apply it.

It cost N2500 and I bought it online from makeupng. Delivery was delayed and so unprofessional by the way.

But anyway if you are looking for coral blush options anytime, give this a try!

PS: Thanks to Vieve for suggesting the blush palette!

Thursday, 6 August 2015

Sleek True Colour Lipstick Review-Vamp


Hi people!
Wanted to share a review on one of my latest makeup buys. Now this lipstick I have had my eyes on for MONTHS since when Lesley of Fresh Lengths did a review on it. I am a sucker for dark berry or wine-ish lipsticks and I have decided I will rock a berry lip for the traditional wedding.

This Sleek True Colour lippie shade is called VAMP (no surprise there haha) and when it comes to the number one thing we look for in lippies-pigmentation, it wins. It is also a matte lipstick but it isn't too drying like some matte ones.
It cost 5 pounds which comes to N1600 approximately.
It comes in a sturdy tube.

Note that I am trying to avoid bright sunlight views in my pics because I recently got afflicted with some nasty breakouts and no, I won't share those with you!



Scoresheet: 5/5. Yup this is my newest fave lippie :)

MAC fans in the house, I'm pretty sure there's a MAC dupe for this lipstick! Any ideas?

Wednesday, 6 May 2015

Review: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick in Va Va Violet

Hello!
And how is the week going for you? Have you missed me? :) It's been a very busy and "interesting" time for me these past few weeks and I just could not get round to blogging. However I am gradually getting back on track so stay tuned for more posts- I have not quit the blogging world yet!

Anywayz, here is a review of a very lovely lippie I got months ago. It's a plum one, very bold and definitely one of my current favourites.

 In summary, the colour pay off is fantastic- now for a Revlon lipstick, I am impressed, and to be honest I wouldn't try any other plum lipstick that's more expensive than this Revlon one, called Va Va Violet.

 It lasts really long, and is easy to apply. It has a very faint hint of a shine to it so it isn't a matte lipstick. I never have to line my lips before applying it.

I can't remember how much I got it but I know it was very affordable, and if you need a plum lipstick to purchase I would highly recommend this one!



Do you like plum lipsticks?

Saturday, 28 March 2015

Pink Revlon Lippies: Revlon ColourStay (015) and Revlon ColourBurst Lip Butter (090)

Hi!
It's lippie review time again and today it's a duo review of 2 Revlon lippies- I should call them lip stains though.
The first is the Revlon ColourStay Moisture Stain (015) - Barcelona Nights. I saw it at a Boots Store months ago and what made me buy it was when I saw the lip colour on a picture of the beautiful Olivia Wilde. I didn't even think twice- I just popped one in my shopping basket.
The exact picture I saw that day :)
The second lippie for review is the Revlon ColourBurst Lip Butter (090) - Sweet Tart. This one was bought because I thought I needed a light pink lip stick for an everyday make up look.
Packaging and effects: Barcelona Nights comes with a doe foot applicator while Sweet Tart comes as a simple tube lip stick. Barcelona Nights does has that glossy and wet feel when applied but like most lip stains, I find that I prefer the look when I have moisturized my lip with balm before application. 
Sweet Tart has a light glossy feel to it.
Top: Barcelona Nights, Bottom: Sweet Tart

Durability and Colour Pay off: Well Barcelona Nights is just OK- I like how it can be lightly applied or thickly applied. However I think it might be wise to layer two or three coats while waiting for the previous coat to dry before applying a new coat. Just slathering the thing on the lips might make the lippie look gooey.
Sweet Tart really disappointed me though. Fine, my natural lip colour is dark and all, but still! It does nothing for me. I had to line my lips with liner very well before I could get this lip colour to show. I guess one has to have very pink lips to rock it.
Sweet tart with lip liner as base
Barcelona Nights lightly applied
The other day I asked Mr. Man what he thought my favourite shade of lipstick was and he confidently said "red". Lol. I mean I will always love the classic red (I just ordered a Ruby Woo- huh what have you been waiting for! you might ask), but I definitely have a soft spot for pink lippies. I even read somewhere that it makes people look younger.

Score Board:
Barcelona Nights: 3/5
Sweet Tart: 1/5

What's your fave shade of lipstick? Red, wine, pink, plum, orange or nude?

Olivia Wilde image source: www.pinkandsparkles.co.nz

Sunday, 15 February 2015

Lips: Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick (Choco-Liscious)

Hi guys!
And how was Valentines Day for you? Mine was very good, and I hope you had a good time or at least got some weekend rest-the mad heat coupled with worsened power supply issues in Lagos has been very draining.
I love this Revlon lippie for 2 reasons: Staying power and the colour. Yes, the reds, pinks, nudes and plums are beautiful, no doubt, but sometimes its lovely when you wear a different-from-the-norm lipstick colour, like the oranges, lilacs, and browns.
I have to say that Revlon lippies have really impressed me lately-they now come in very trendy colours. I got a plum one as well and will do a review soon.
The staying power is impressive, and it is well pigmented. I only lined my lips at the edges-not all over. I also like how this lipstick can be built upon by layering, to give a darker and richer hue.
It isn't drying at all, it has a faint glossy feel to it, so it isn't a matte lipstick, and it is very easy to apply because of it's creamy consistency. Revlon makeup is sold in many stores in Nigeria-including Casabella.
For my signature "barely-there" look, I used Benefits Boiing Concealer under my eyes and my brown patches. I skipped foundation and used Mac Studio Finish powder. Contoured with Sleek's Face Form contour kit, and used the colours in the contour kit as eyeshadow, using the highlighter under the eyebrows, the light brown all over the lid and the dark brown at the outer corner of the lid. I used my trusty Davis pencil for my brows, used my Love Alpha gel eyeliner on my eyes including the waterline, used Maybelline Colossal Express mascara and that was it!

Do you wear brown lippies sometimes? And how did you spend Vals Day? xxx

Laterz
xoxo

Monday, 9 February 2015

Review: Kiko Skin Tone Corrector Primer (Peach)

I remember watching a Youtube video sometime ago on how to conceal brown or dark discolourations on the skin. The vlogger actually used peachy-orange lipstick (precisely Mac’s Morange) to conceal her under eye circles, before covering that up with normal concealer. The idea was that peachy tones counteract brown tones and that for effective coverage of brown spots or patches on the skin, a normal concealer would not do a very good job-unless it is a high strength concealer which is actually expensive.
Mac's Morange lipstick used to counteract brown spots
comprefacilmaquiagem.com
Also, I have read about skin tone correctors that help to even out uneven skin tone in preparation for foundation or powder, and that’s why when I spotted the Kiko Skin Tone Corrector Primer in Peach at the Kiko store in the Westfield Mall, I didn’t hesitate to get it.

What it does for me: I have medium–toned African skin. I find that this corrector gives my skin a brighter glow, though not as much as I would like. I really think that the peach tone is not “peachy” enough for my skin tone, and I would not recommend it for concealing very brown patches. This would work well on very faint discolourations, fairly well as an all-over-the-face glow-giver, and excellently well on very light skin tones or Caucasian skin.
Because this product isn’t expensive, and because I do use it under my makeup, I wouldn’t call it a total disappointment. I am sure that a corrector with a darker peach tone would be perfect for counteracting brown spots and patches and even giving a brighter glow.

Primer effect and texture: As a primer, I think it is okay, because it has a moisturizing effect that helps to set the foundation and/or powder better. However, because of the humid and hot climate here in Nigeria, I find most primers useless unless it has a shine-control effect, which is why I still use my Flori Roberts Shine Away Oil Blotting Primer first, before applying the Kiko Skin Tone Corrector Primer. The texture is so light and gets absorbed really quickly. It has no obvious fragrance and it did not cause any negative reactions on my skin.
Different shades: This product comes in 3 different shades: Peach (counteracts brown spots or patches), Green (counteracts pink/red spots or patches-e.g rosacea, pimples etc), Violet (counteracts yellow skin tones).
Green shade of the corrector/primer-snapshot from Kiko website

Price: 9.90 pounds (About N3000). Kiko make up products are not sold in Nigeria yet but I feel this review would help anyone in making decisions when buying a skin tone corrector/primer in the future; the right shade of peach to buy, etc.

Packaging: It comes in a cylindrical plastic bottle with a pump.

Will I recommend?: This PEACH corrector-primer is paraben-free, hypoallergenic (so it doesn’t break me out at all and I have sensitive skin), and it is non-comedogenic (won’t clog the pores). These are all fine points for this product, but based on my review, I would recommend this as a corrector/primer if you are Caucasian, if you have a darker skin tone but have very mild brown discolouration, and if you don’t need a shine-control primer.

Overall Score: 3/5

Wednesday, 14 January 2015

Review: Sebamed Antibacterial Cleansing Foam

Hi!
I have been wanting to do this review for so long-but just never got round to doing it. I have known about Sebamed products for a while now and have read quite good reviews about them. I was looking out for an antibacterial face wash since I realized my acne was caused by bacteria. I saw this at Healthplus and I am glad I purchased it.

How I Use It: When I just got it I used it religiously 2ce a day for about a week. Afterwards I started using it once a week or every 10 days. Instructions say it must be left on the skin for 5 minutes before rinsing off, to give the product time to work. It has a mild fragrance and is actually a foam.
My one :)
What It Does For My Skin: I must say, this wash impressed me. I saw a rapid reduction in the acne on my skin, and I noticed that for those pesky, about-to-come-out pimples that you feel under your skin, it does a good job of scaring them away. So I basically use it for keeping acne at bay, like a preventive measure.
After leaving it on for 5 minutes, I rinse off, but it leaves behind a very slight filmy residue-in other words your skin will not feel squeaky "clean". I believe this residue helps to keep the product on the face longer, for more effective results. One thing to note though, for the light skinned divas, this soap darkens. At least it darkens my skin-which is another reason why I only use it a few times a month.

Price: It cost N2000 at Healthplus for a 150ml bottle.

Packaging: As can be seen, it comes in a pump bottle with a clear cap that fits tight and firm.
What it looks like when pumped out
Summary (My Verdict): It is a great product and is effective enough that it can be used every few days or even weekly and you would still see results. It has an effective ingredient called Montaline C40 which is derived from coconuts. Coconut oil has natural antibacterial properties so no surprise there. I have also read somewhere that coconut oil attracts the sun which is maybe why this soap darkened me. But I may be wrong.

Will I recommend?: Definitely. It is affordable enough, and it is definitely worth trying if you are acne prone.

Overall Rating: 4/5- One point removed only because of the darkening effect it had on my skin :)


Laterz!
Fola

Tuesday, 23 December 2014

Lips: Kiko Smart Lipstick (904) and Kiko Smart Lip Pencil (702)



Hey!
Here is another review from my recent Kiko lippy collection and this is the Kiko Smart Lipstick in 904
as well as the Kiko Smart Lip pencil in 702.

I  find the lipstick to be averagely pigmented and I like the pink colour.

The lip pencil is okay though it does very little at colouring my dark lips. I also found that using this particular pencil with this particular lipstick makes the lipstick flake a little. The lipstick is also best worn on moisturized lips (I use Chapstick first, wipe, then apply it again).

Swatches: Lip pencil on the left, lipstick on the right
 Durability is average and this colour would be perfect for blending with a red lippy to give a fuchsia hue.
Prices:
Lipstick: 3.50 pounds
Pencil: 1.90 pounds
Overall Score:
Lipstick: 3/5
Lip pencil: 2.5/5

 What are your plans for Christmas?

Laterz
xoxo